The Words

“The words. Why did they have to exist? Without them, there wouldn’t be any of this.”
Markus Zusak in The Book Thief

The Book Thief is one of my absolute favorite books. Partially because I’m obsessed with any literature that discusses the Holocaust and partially because it’s just such a great book. I haven’t read anything else by Markus Zusak (which needs to change soon), so I’m not sure if this is just a one-hit wonder of if he’s just an incredible writer in every aspect. I love the book because of the ability to relate, the perspective in which it is written, and the passion and focus on words throughout the book. The fact that it is about the Holocaust is kind of just the icing on top that makes me even more enthralled with it.

I think this quote, in particular, sums up the book excellently. It’s about words, yes, but it’s also about life, meaning, destruction, passion, relationships, and so much more. There’s so much that could be analyzed with this quote and people could probably discuss their related thoughts for hours upon hours at a time. It’s just so deep.

Without words, Hitler could not have spoken to an entire nation. He would not have been able to use his gift of elocution to convince such an enormous number of people to follow him. Without words, the Nazi army could not have been created. Without words, there could not have been such clear prejudice, hatred, and racism towards the different groups that the Nazis targeted.

However, without words, Elie Wiesel could not have been a famous, award-winning author who was able to tell his story of this terrible time. Without words, generations later, children would have no legitimate understanding of what the Holocaust was. Without words, we would be silent and no one would have a voice. And what good is a world where no one has a voice? Where no one can speak their mind or have an outspoken opinion? Without words, no one can change the world.

3 thoughts on “The Words

  1. Fascinating take. If anything embodies the idea of magic, it’s words. Though they’re only comprised of the 26 letter alphabet, words can do great and terrible things. I haven’t read the “The Book Thief” but your enthusiasm has really provoked me to pick it up asap!

    You know who else likes words…

    Like

  2. I agree, without words life would not be the same. Everything would not be as we know it. The Book Thief story highlights the importance of words in society and how they change the world in general. I also share an interest in the Holocaust. Since I was in high school I have been curious of the events that occurred during the Holocaust time period. I even took a Holocaust course at Valencia College (East Campus) as an elective while I was working on my A.A. Degree. I have recently watched The Book Thief movie and I must admit that I was somewhat disappointed. I guess because there wasn’t enough action throughout the movie (but that’s just my opinion). I recommend, if you have already finished the book then you should definitely watch the movie. Who knows…you may like the movie way more than the book!

    Like

  3. Don’t judge, but Holocaust books are my least favorite. I will say though that the Book Thief is my favorite. I haven’t read anything else by him either and just finished an interesting YA Holocaust book called Playing for the Commandant. Interesting twists!

    Like

Leave a comment